Driving Without Insurance in Chesapeake

We all make mistakes. Driving without insurance can be one of them, whether due to an administrative error, forgetfulness, missed payment, or otherwise. No matter the reason, driving uninsurance is against the law and can result in fines, points on your license, and revocation of your license.

Regardless of the specific situation you find yourself in, if you face legal action due to driving without insurance in Chesapeake, then you should call an experienced traffic attorney today for help with your case. No legal matter is too small for quality representation. Your ability to drive freely could depend on it.

Laws Regarding Motor Vehicle Insurance

Per the Code of Virginia § 46.2-707, driving a motor vehicle without insurance is a class three misdemeanor that can result in fines and other penalties. Drivers who have not paid the required fee are also expected to surrender their license plates or face an additional charge. Falsely claiming to have insurance when uninsured is also its own offense.

Driving without insurance can lead to multiple charges in Chesapeake, which can mean higher fines and more jeopardy to a driver’s license. By hiring an attorney, an accused driver has an advocate on their side who can examine the facts of the case and determine the best course of action.

Uninsured Motorist Fee

A practiced lawyer in Chesapeake will inform their client about the details of Virginia’s uninsured motorist fee, which allows drivers to pay a fee of $500 when they register their vehicle for the first time or are renewing their registration. Drivers who have paid this fee are able to drive without insurance.

This does not mean that the driver is covered in any way in the event of an accident. If found liable for a car crash, the driver would be personally liable for damages. Anyone trying to decide whether to pay the uninsured motorist fee or get insurance coverage should contact a lawyer for advice tailored to the details of their situation.

Defenses to Driving Without Insurance

A skilled Chesapeake lawyer knows the defenses to driving without insurance and can determine if the facts of their client’s case allow for any of these defenses, which include lack of knowledge, temporary lapses, and financial hardship.

Being found guilty of the class three misdemeanor of driving without insurance can result in a $600 fee and a $145 reinstatement fee, as well as points on a driver’s license and potential revocation of driving privileges. This makes the charge a serious matter that justifies getting in touch with an attorney.

Call a Chesapeake Attorney After a Driving Without Insurance Violation

Call a lawyer today for a consultation regarding driving without insurance in Chesapeake. Although the offense may seem minor, its effects can be major. There is no reason to jeopardize your ability to drive or see your insurance premium skyrocket due to a lousy mistake.

The attorneys at Parks Zeigler, PLLC, can help deal with this violation so you do not have to face the legal system alone.

Areas We Serve

With an office near Town Center, Virginia Beach and a second location beside the Chesapeake courthouse, our team provides quality legal representation across the entire Hampton Roads Area.

  • Virginia Beach
  • Hampton
  • Chesapeake
  • Newport News
  • Norfolk
  • Yorktown
  • Portsmouth
  • Accomack County
  • Suffolk
  • Northampton County

Parks Zeigler, PLLC – Attorneys At Law

Parks Zeigler, PLLC – Attorneys At Law N/a
4768 Euclid Road,
Suite 103

Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462
Map & Directions
524 Albemarle Drive,
Suite 200

Chesapeake, Virginia 23322
Map & Directions
200 N. Water Street,
Suite 2A

Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Map & Directions