July 1, 2013 Virginia laws regarding distracted driving and landlord -tenants.

Kellam T. Parks
Managing Member of Parks Zeigler, PLLC

Virginia Code 46.2-1078.1(C):  Driving while texting is now a primary offense. This means you can be pulled over by the police for said offense (rather than being caught in the act while being stopped for another offense).  The fines were increased from $20 to $125 for the first offense and from $50 to $250 for a second offense. http://goo.gl/WZRV

There were numerous changes to the Virginia Residential Landlord Tenant Act (VRLTA).  If you rent property (or are a landlord for residential properties that may be covered), you should ensure you read the VRLTA each year so you know your rights and responsibilities.  A few of the changed/added provisions include new avenues of action for tenants regarding terminated utilities; the handling of security deposits upon termination of tenancy; and how landlords can dispose of tenant property upon eviction.  http://goo.gl/E1zYV

Note that if you had a case pending prior to July 1, 2013, your case will be based on the laws prior to that date. You can also go to Virginia’s Legislative website to get the full text of the bills which led to these revisions and/or to review all proposed legislation (whether passed or not). http://goo.gl/yFyr0

Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment